It seems that most days you get walk around without almost tripping or slipping on something. However, if you have found your way to this page, you have probably not been so lucky. If you have hurt yourself badly after a slip or trip and fall, you may be able to bring a slip and fall claim. These cases are no joke and can leave you really badly injured. You may need a lot of medical treatment which means you might have a lot of medical bills piling up. Even worse, if you were badly injured, you may be out of work, so you may be worried about your lost wages. A slip and fall case will bring your compensation for your medical bills and lost wages. After you read a little bit about your case, please call our Texas slip and fall lawyers to set up a free consultation.
Texas Statute of Limitations
It is important that you are aware of the statute of limitations so that you do not get yourself barred from compensation. If you try to bring your case after your statute of limitations has passed, then you will not be allowed to receive any reward. In Texas, you get two years from the date of your slip and fall to bring your case or settle it in civil court. It is often suggested that you do not wait to talk to an attorney about bringing your case. If you delay, it will put your attorney under an even tighter timeline to build a strong case for you. You will also make it harder to track down witnesses or protect evidence. We encourage you to reach out to an attorney as soon as you can.
How Slip and Fall Compensation Works
Texas follows the rules of shared fault. That means you are allowed to collect compensation, even if you are partially at fault for your injuries. You will not be allowed to collect compensation if you are responsible for the majority of the incident. If you are more than 50 percent to blame, then you will be barred from compensation. If you are 50 percent or less at fault for your injuries, then your compensation will be reduced. For instance, if you were at a grocery store and you were rounding the corner and fell in a puddle that had not been clean, but you were on your phone and might have seen the puddle, you might bear some fault for the accident. If you have been found 10 percent at fault, awarded $10,000 for your injuries, then your award would be reduced to $9,000.
Most Common Types of Slip and Fall Injuries
It is not uncommon for us to see victims of slip and falls with serious injuries. It is unfortunate and we would like to express our sympathies. You may have an injury that heals with some good treatment, or you will have an injury that might require a surgery. Even then, you might always feel that injury.
- Cuts and lacerations
- Contusions and concussion
- Broken bones or fractures
It is so important that you seek medical attention right away. Your health is the highest priority and you need to treat it as such. If you feel tempted to wait to see a doctor, know that you will be running the risk of worsening your condition. Also, it is important that you see a doctor right away and do not wait because if there is a gap in your treatment, then the liable party’s insurance company will look at your case and try to claim that you were not badly injured enough to be given compensation. Also, you will be at risk of them throwing out your case if you did not have immediate medical attention as they might claim your injuries came from a different incident.
Call Our Office Today for a Free Consultation
If you have been seriously hurt in a slip and fall, then you can be eligible for compensation through a slip and fall case. Our Texas slip and fall lawyers will guide you through your case step by step and take over all of the tough legal factors so that you can focus your energy on healing from your injuries. You will be treated like a priority as well you should and we will make sure you are always fully informed about the goings on of your case.